National News Spring 20182019-01-02T21:58:02+00:00

The latest harp news from all over the world.  

If you have a news item please contact our Correspondents.




Harpe Diem, the Flemish harpday in Belgium, will celebrate its 25thanniversary on 11 November 2018 with Catrin Finch, Artistic Director of the 14thWorld Harp Congress in Cardiff, as main guest. There will be masterclasses, recitals, ensembles, and a harp and music exhibition.  www.harpediem.be


The 5thHarpegio Competition took place on 3-4 March 2018. The results of the competition are:

First division
First prize: Nina Vandeurzen
Second prize: Julie Debrabandere
Third prize: Soukeina Douiri
Incentive award: Foucauld d’Alès

Second division
First prize: Bradley Swinnen
Second prize: Zimra Hegedűs-Bjelik
Third prize: Hanne Van Hulle

Third division
First prize: Sielke Ramakers
Second prize: Néféli Motteu
Incentive award: Bujana Ameti and Lucia Valls Martinez

Fourth division
First prize: Catherine Willems
Second prize: Siobhan Mathiak
Third prize: Evelien Vaneysendeyk

Fifth division

Second prize: Luna Vissers
Third prize and incentive award: Juliette Gauthier




The Finnish Harp Society (Suomen Harpistitry) and the Sibelius Academy National Youth Department organized a masterclass with Gwyneth Wentink in the Helsinki Musiikkitalo on 8-11 February 2018.  Forty-four harpists from beginners to master students from the Sibelius Academy participated in the course. Gwyneth Wentink also performed a solo recital in the Camerata Hall of Helsinki Musiikkitalo. The course ended with a concert given by all the participants and harp yoga.

The Harp of Brandiswhiere by Sylvia Woods will be performed by 15 young harpists and a narrator on 21 April 2018 in Espoo, and 28 April 2018 in Lohja. The project is organized by harpists Pauliina Kallio and Hanna Kenttämies (Rantalaiho).

The Sibelius Academy has purchased a new Camac Blue and has organized a composition project with the Korvat Auki Composer Society. Composition students at the Sibelius Academy collaborate with harp students. The compositions will be premiered on 17 April 2018 in the Helsinki Musiikkitalo.


Iván Bragado Poveda from Spain won the First Prize at the 1st International Harp Competition in Porto, Portugal, in November 2017.  Iván has been studying harp at the Sibelius Academy University of Arts in Helsinki since 2015 with Päivi Severeide.




The Harpes au Max Festival will take place in Ancenis on 17-20 May 2018. www.harpesaumax.com

The Camac Festival will take place in Belfort, close to the German and Swiss borders in Northeast France on 19-21 October 2018.


Marie Pierre Langlamet will give a masterclass 20-30 July 2018 in Tignes. www.festivalmusicalp.com




The “Deutsche Musikratswettbewerb” took place in Bonn in March 2018. The winner of the stipend, which includes a series of concerts, was Lea Maria Löffler.

Lea Maria Löffler (Credit: Heike Fischer)




The 4th International Hong Kong Harp Competition will take place 4-8 October 2018.  The 1st Hong Kong Harp Competition was held in 2010, and since then it has become an internationally-recognized competition, attracting more than 150 participants in 2015. The Competition has evolved into the Hong Kong International Harp Competition and is open to harpists of any nationality.  For more information see: hkharpsociety.org


27 July-7 August 2018: Masterclasses with Catherine Michel, Naoko Yoshino, Maria Luisa Rayan, and Gabriella Dall’Olio. Information is available from the Hong Kong Harp Centre.




“Cruit Éireann, Harp Ireland” was established by harpers in collaboration with The Arts Council An Chomhairle Ealaíon to support the continuing evolution of the harp.   The collective of harp players works together to promote the national instrument, gain recognition for its unique status and secure its sustainability.  www.harpireland.ie 


Dr Clíona Doris was conferred with the title of ‘Professor’ by Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT) at a Ceremony in St Patrick’s Cathedral on 24 February 2018. The Award is conferred by DIT on individuals who have demonstrated an outstanding level of academic distinction through their research, consultancy, scholarship or creative achievement, their professional standing, and their academic leadership.


Go to Top